Quebec is a province in east-. It is the only with a predominantly French-speaking population and the only one whose sole official language is French at the provincial level.

Quebec is Canada’s largest province by area and its second-largest administrative division; only the is larger. It is bordered to the west by the province of Ontario, James Bay and , to the north by Hudson Strait and , to the east by the Gulf of Saint Lawrence and the provinces of and New Brunswick. It is bordered on the south by the US states of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, and New York. It also shares maritime borders with Nunavut, Prince Edward Island, and Nova Scotia.

Quebec is Canada’s second most , after Ontario. Most inhabitants live in urban areas near the Saint Lawrence River between Montreal and , the capital. English-speaking communities and English-language institutions are concentrated in the west of the but are also significantly present in the Outaouais, , and Gaspé regions. The Nord-du-Québec region, occupying the northern half of the province, is sparsely populated and inhabited primarily by .

Leave a Reply